Wear your tutu everyday

I am officially obsessed with tutus and I am now officially 23 years young; what a stellar combination.  Life has a funny way of getting busy but my housemates made time to ensure that the start to my 23rd year was a wonderful time; I got a cake with a bird on it and a homemade tutu.  Who says growing older means you have to grow up?

bird cake and birthday tutu

In the past few weeks, I’ve been very busy with our Green Team schools and working with them to wrap up the school year.  We’ve done some fun newsletter writing and bug hunting and willow staking.. you can check it all out (and please do!) on our Green Team blog.  We just had a student summit on Thursday with students from five of my schools presenting their work they have done this year; it was such a proud moment for me and for Green Team to see them share all they have learned and to hear their personal stories.  I have really come to love working with these kids and getting to know them over the past nine months has been one of the absolute best things about my year in Oregon.

Some of my students also spoke at SOLV’s fundraising breakfast at the Oregon Zoo about their experience with Green Team, along with their teacher who has been so inspiring and wonderful to work with.  Watch it here:

As busy as life can be, it can always get busier!  With the warmer weather here (kind of) I’m hoping to get outside for long walks, runs, hikes and bike rides more as everything is blooming and its so much lighter out later.  The farmer’s market is open here in Hillsboro with fun veggies starting to come in from local farms; we’re trying to get our raised beds started in our backyard and we are in the process of getting beds started at a local church with lots of good deliciousness.  Also going to keep up on card-making.. its a fun way to use up paper and fabric scraps while keeping in touch.

Not too much else to report since I’ve been working so much but have been able to table for SOLV at some good events like a children’s festival and a farmer’s market; I know now how imperative it is for me to really work on my Spanish!  We have a great intern that is able to help me out a lot but I’m hoping to start learning some key words and work on my vocab so I can communicate with more folks about SOLV and life in general.

That’s all for now.. remember to get all your veggies planted now that the frosts are done!  Get outside for hikes and farmer’s markets and bike rides and visits with friends.  I’m gonna be on the hunt for a used Polaroid camera.. they’re so fun to use and I love the photo formats.. perfect for summer picnics in the grass.  Soak in the sun friends!

Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplacable spark. In the hopeless swamps of the not quite, the not yet, and the not at all, do not let the hero in your soul perish and leave only frustration for the life you deserved, but never have been able to reach. The world you desire can be won, it exists, it is real, it is possible, it is yours. (Ayn Rand)

PS: I hear things are going well at Fresh & Fancy Farms in NJ; you should check them out if you haven’t yet!

Fresh and Fancy flowers in my parent's yard

One thought on “Wear your tutu everyday

Leave a Reply

