A Jarring Discovery

So in this interim that is my life, I’m attempting to keep myself occupied as I continue the job search and figure out what my next chapter will look like.  Today this means heading to the farmer’s market in the hopes of snagging some of those last vibrant red tomatoes and continuing the online journey of job hunting.  Blogging has been one of those things this year that has been genuine fun and a good outlet for me to share with all six of you who read this a little window into my strange, transitional life.  And recently, I’ve really enjoyed blogging about my little projects that keep me busy…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jars.  I’ve been pretty keen on Ball jars for a long time and my mom has been stockpiling them like crazy with all of her great garage sale finds.  This past weekend, she paid $4.50 for about 10 assorted jars, lids and bands.  Some are all glass with attached glass lids, some are tiny, some are probably 50 years old.  All are reusable and waiting for for their next project.  We’ve also been saving all glass jars, i.e. pasta sauce, salsa, relish and holding onto them until we figured out how to reuse them in a fun way.

I found this book by Susan Wasinger called Eco Craft at the library and have been leafing through it like crazy and jotting down ideas for re-purposing.  While not all of the ideas are necessarily do-able and worth the time they would take (baby jar chandelier?) it inspired another look around the house for things I could reuse.  I was able to clean out a few jars and with some painting tape and chalkboard paint, create some new storage containers with easy labeling.

  1. Using masking/painting tape to define the area of the jar you want to label, create a rectangular/square area.  Press all tape down securely.
  2. With a small paintbrush (I used a foam brush) apply the chalkboard paint to the area.  I did about four coats to cover evenly and smoothly, waiting a few minutes between coats.  The timing depends on the type of paint; I used PLAID Folk Art brand Chalkboard Paint.  I waited several hours before removing the tape but Wasinger says to remove it immediately to ensure clean lines.
  3. Optional: Using low-VOC paint (VOC’s are volatile organic compounds are carbon-containing compounds that react with other elements in the air and produce ozone, which creates air pollution) you can paint the lids of the jars funky colors.  Since you don’t need much paint, you can probably use leftover paint you already own or get some paint samples.  I might go crazy and cover my lids in fabric.  Oh the freedom of crafting…

These jars are great for storing knick-knacks like buttons or change, food items like bulghur or dried bay leaves, or perhaps creating a wish jar or a reward jar for random acts of kindness.

Leave a Reply

