The (Food) Love of my Life

Hummus.  How did I live 20 years without you?  Your versatility, deliciousness and general sassiness make you a fantastic complement to sandwiches, crackers, pita.. Let’s be honest here.. I eat hummus on its own.  It wasn’t until this year that I attempted (along with my JVC housemates) to make my own hummus and let me tell you.. its a grand time.  Lots of tweaking it involved but its been a beautiful friendship since the very beginning.  Here’s my super simple go-to recipe:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From The Moosewood Cookbook:

  • 2 to 3 medium cloves garlic, sliced
  • large handful of parsley (super easy to grow yourself!)
  • 2 healthy scallions, in 1-inch pieces
  • 3 cups cooked chickpeas (2 15 1/2 oz. cans, rinsed and well drained or soak dried beans)
  • 6 tbs. tahini (found in specialty aisle, ground sesame seeds)
  • 6 tbs. fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 to 1 tsp. salt, to taste
  • optional: cayenne and cumin, to taste

Place garlic, parsley and scallions in a food processor or blender and mince

Add chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice and salt, and puree to a thick paste.  (You can also do the mincing and mashing by hand.  The hummus will have a coarser texture, but that can be nice, too.  My note: We did not have a blender that worked in my house last year so all mashing was done by hand.. it was coarse for sure but made for a nice arm workout!)

Season to taste, if desired, with cayenne and cumin and correct salt if necessary.  Tansfer to a tightly lidded container and chill, not before lots of taste tests of course.

My favorite pairings are carrots, pita chips, crackers and red wine.  The red wine is a necessity.

2 thoughts on “The (Food) Love of my Life

Leave a Reply

