Mum’s the Word at Fresh & Fancy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s New Jersey’s best-kept secret?  How can I pick just one?  But I do know for a fact that one of them is Fresh & Fancy Farms in New Milford, run by the Low family of Oradell.  I was connected to Meg Low through a mutual friend from high school and we played email tag while I was finishing my year with Jesuit Volunteer Corps in Oregon.  I paid Fresh & Fancy my first visit last week and let me tell you, it was a little slice of heaven.

Meg, a fashionista/social media maven/crafty lady extraordinaire, greeted me at the farm like we’d been friends for years.  Indeed it feels like we’ve known each other forever, though the extent of our friendship had just been via email and texts to this point.. funny how the world works.  I’ve been following all of Meg’s tweets and Facebook posts about the farm and was just overjoyed to take a look around and see all of the beautiful nooks and crannies this extraordinary little farm had to offer..

Originally Klinger’s Farms, owned by Bill and Sharon Klinger, the Low family purchased the farm this year and opened it on Mother’s Day.  (You can find more of the backstory in the New Milford Patch article about the farm.)  Nearly 100 years old, the twinkle and the charm of days gone by still whisper to you as you walk through the farm.  Meg showed me the greenhouses, of which there are several, that she wants to get into working order and we talked for hours about the plans she and her family have for the farm.  I can feel her excitement and enthusiasm as she talks and I appreciate her suggestion of walking around the farm on my own to snap pictures and explore.

I am so excited to join the Fresh & Fancy team as a guest blogger, part-timer, friend.. whatever you want to call it.  Be sure to stay tuned to their blog (http://freshandfancyfarms.com/) and put Harvest Fest into your calendar!  Happening for the first time on Saturday, October 8th, there will be face-painting, wonderful deals on plants, games and so much more.  Will we see you there in your fresh and fancy gear?  Hope so!

One thought on “Mum’s the Word at Fresh & Fancy

Leave a Reply

